Facebook
NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of Medical and Dental Excellence

Your Development

Staff Grade, Associate Specialist and Specialty (SAS) Doctors and Dentists

 

The Staff, Associate Specialist and Specialty (SAS) Doctors and Dentists Development Programme was established in 2012 as a result of Scottish Government funding to develop SAS doctors and dentists working in NHS Scotland. Funding was initially on a three-year project basis but has now been added to NES’s base-line funding.


There are approximately 1300 SAS grade doctors and dentists working in NHS Scotland. They make up about 25% of the senior medical workforce.


The programme aims to direct national funding to those SAS doctors and dentists whose clinical teams are seeking to develop new or improved clinical services, or to enhance their role within the clinical team, and where funding is not otherwise provided by the employing Health Board. If approved, funding is available to support costs for training, salary backfill, or completion of training to apply for a Certificate of Eligibility for Specialist Registration (CESR). In addition, funding has enabled the creation of a national network of Education Advisers (who are themselves SAS doctors or dentists) to support local SAS doctors and dentists, and to guide them (and their employing Health Boards) to make best use of this funding opportunity.

 

You can find further information on the SAS Development Programme in these useful documents:

 

 

The Specialty Doctor contract in 2008 recognised the need for time for appraisal and CPD, and all Specialty contracts should have at least one session of Supporting Professional Activity (SPA) per week to allow time for this.

The GMC has produced CPD guidance for all doctors, emphasising the importance of planning for career progression, patient safety and revalidation.

 

 

 

 SAS Managed Educational Network

Please find below a list of our SAS Education Advisers by health board region

 

Health Board Region

Education Adviser

Contact

 NHS Ayrshire & Arran

 Dr Liza Neville

 Liza.Neville@aapct.scot.nhs.uk

 NHS Borders

 Ms Victoria Dobie

 Victoria.Dobie@borders.scot.nhs.uk

 NHS Dumfries & Galloway

Dr Susan Robertson

 Susan.Robertson@nhs.net

 NHS Fife

 Dr Grant Forrest

 Grant.Forrest@nhs.net

 NHS Forth Valley

 Ms Jane Shearer

 Jane.Shearer@nhs.net

 NHS Grampian/Orkney & Shetland

 Dr Jamil Ahmed

 Jamil.Ahmed1@nhs.net

 NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dr Jennifer Devine

 Jennifer.Devine@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

 NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dr Morag Gorrie

 Morag.Gorrie@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

 NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dr Anna Hanusiak

 Anna.Hanusiak@nhs.net

 NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

 Dr Jane Wilkinson

 Jane.Wilkinson@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

 NHS Highland/Western Isles

 Dr Fiona Gibson

 FGibson3@nhs.net

 NHS Lanarkshire

Dr Patricia Townsley

 Patricia.Townsley@nhs.net

 NHS Lothian

Dr Lynne Meekison

 Lynne.Meekison@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

 NHS Tayside

 Dr Vinita Shekar

 VShekar@nhs.net

 

Who can I contact for more information?

SASDevelopment@nes.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Education for Scotland
3rd Floor, 2 Central Quay
89 Hydepark Street
Glasgow, G3 8BW
Tel: 0141 223 1509


Top