Facebook
NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of Medical and Dental Excellence

Trainee Information

Meet the Team

The Scottish Foundation School is divided up into 4 regions which are linked to a Medical school.

Regional teams are responsible for managing the training programmes in their region. In three of the regions (North, South East and West), there are consortium leads, who provide operational support to the Foundations Leads. So no matter where you are training, the Deanery and Foundation School have people close by to assist and advise.

The School sits within the Scotland Deanery and has key staff across Scotland delivering the programmes and managing the School. You can find more information below.

For general enquiries, please contact sfas@nes.scot.nhs.uk

For employment matters, please see the Turas Hub.

 

Key Contacts

The East Regional Office is located in Dundee.

Regional Foundation Team

Dr Fiona Cameron
Associate Postgraduate Dean (Foundation)
Email: fionacameron@nhs.net

Jennifer Duncan
Training Programme Team Leader
Tel: 01382 632 563
Email: jennifer.duncan@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Elaine Scott
Training Programme Assistant
Email: foundation.East@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Liz Lesslie
Training Programme Assistant
Email: 
foundation.East@nes.scot.nhs.uk

 

Postgraduate Hospital Administrators

Please use contacts for your regional foundation team.

Foundation Programme Directors

Full details of the Programmes can be found here.

Note: all programmes are subject to change.

 

Raising Concerns

First of all you should ask your clinical or educational supervisor for advice. If you feel you need further support, contact your Foundation Programme Director or someone at the Deanery. Alternatively complete the Raising a Concern Form.

The North Regional Office is located in Aberdeen, with a second office in Inverness.

Regional Foundation Team

Joy Miller
Associate Postgraduate Dean (Foundation)
Email: joy.miller@nhs.net

Dianne Morrison
Training Programme Team Leader
Tel: 01224 554 366
Email: dianne.morrison@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Larissa Spindler
Training Programme Administrator
Forest Grove House, Aberdeen
Email: larissa.spindler@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Melanie Stewart
Training Programme Assistant
Centre for Health Sciences, Inverness
Email: melanie.stewart@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Consortia Contact

Mr Yatin Patel
Consortium Lead
Email: yatinpatel1@nhs.net

 

Postgraduate Hospital Administrators

Name

Hospital

E-mail address

Emma MacDonald(N7/N10)

Lorn & Islands Hospital, Oban

emma.macdonald@nhs.net

Alison Paterson (N4/N5)

Dr Gray’s Hospital , Elgin

Alison.paterson5@nhs.net

Janet Shepherd (N3)

Belford Hospital, Fort William

Janet.shepherd2@nhs.net

Melanie Stewart (N1/N2/N9)

Centre for Health Sciences, Raigmore Hospital, Inverness

Melanie.stewart@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Larissa Spindler (N6/N11)

 Forest Grove House, Aberdeen

 larissa.spindler@nes.scot.nhs.uk

 

Foundation Programme Directors

Full details of the Programmes can be found here.

Note: all programmes are subject to change.

 

Raising Concerns

First of all you should ask your clinical or educational supervisor for advice. If you feel you need further support, contact your Foundation Programme Director or someone at the Region. Alternatively complete the Raising a Concern Form.

The South East Regional Office is located in Edinburgh.

Regional Foundation Team

Dr Duncan Henderson
Associate Postgraduate Dean (Foundation)
Email: duncan.henderson@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Jackie Aitken
Training Programme Team Leader
Tel: 0131 656 3475
Email: jackie.aitken@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Emma McFadyen
Training Programme Administrator
Email: Emma.McFadyen@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Consortia Contact

Dr Alistair Milne
Consortium Lead
Email: alistair.milne@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Postgraduate Hospital Administrators

Name

Hospital

E-mail address

Marion Wright

St John’s Hospital

marion.wright@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Ann Sheach

Victoria Hospital Kirkcaldy & Queen Margaret Hospital, Dunfermline

ann.sheach@nhs.net

Nadia Mitchell

Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh

Nadia.mitchell@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Jane McCrindle

Royal Hospital for Sick Children

Jane.E.McCrindle@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Beverley Grant

Western General Hospital

beverley.x.grant@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Ryan Pritchard

Borders General Hospital

ryan.pritchard@borders.scot.nhs.uk

Foundation Programme Directors

Full details of the Programmes can be found here.

Note: all programmes are subject to change.

 

Raising Concerns

First of all you should ask your clinical or educational supervisor for advice. If you feel you need further support, contact your Foundation Programme Director or someone at the Regional Office. Alternatively complete the Raising a Concern Form.

The West Regional Office is located in Glasgow.

Regional Foundation Team

Dr Caroline Whitton
Associate Postgraduate Dean (Foundation)
Email: caroline.whitton@nes.scot.nhs.uk 

Karen Cairnduff
Training Programme Team Leader
Tel: 0141 223 1421
Email: Karen.Cairnduff@nes.scot.nhs.uk 

VACANT
Training Programme Administrator
Tel:
Email:

VACANT
Training Programme Assistant
Tel: 
Email:

Consortia Contacts

The West Region is split into 3 Consortia, South, North East and West.

South Consortium: Programmes W01 - W09

Consortium Lead: Dr Joseph Sarvesvaran
Consortium Lead Administrator: Kirsty Hamilton

North & East Consortium: Programmes W10 - W17
Consortium Lead: Dr Brian Neilly
Consortium Lead Administrator: Tracy Boue or Jean Elliot

West Consortium: Programmes W18 - W24
Consortium Lead: Dr Mohammed Al-Haddad
Consortium Lead Administrator: Justine Cannon

Postgraduate Administrators

 Name  Programme(s)  E-mail
Kirsty Hamilton W01 kirsty.hamilton@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Jacqui Gaffney W02/W20 jacqui.gaffney@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Sandra Hodgson W03 sandra.hodgson@aapct.scot.nhs.uk
Audrey Gallacher W04 audrey.gallacher@aapct.scot.nhs.uk
Lorna McLaren W05/W24 lorna.mclaren@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Jennifer Johns W06/W07/W08 jennifer.johns@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
June Lamont / Tracy Tannahill W09 june.lamont@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk / tracy.tannahill@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Martine Blake W10 martine.blake@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Tracy Boue W11/W12 tracy.boue@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Jean Elliot W13/W14 jean.elliot@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Alison Ross W15 alison.ross@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Sheona Everett W16 sheona.everett@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Justine Cannon W17/W18 justine.cannon@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Anne-Marie Coxon W19 a.coxon@nhs.net
Mary Malarkey W21/W22/W23 marymalarkey@nhs.net

 

Foundation Programme Directors

Full details of the Programmes can be found here.

Note: all programmes are subject to change.

 

Raising Concerns

First of all you should ask your clinical or educational supervisor for advice. If you feel you need further support, contact your Foundation Programme Director or someone at the Regional Office. Alternatively complete the Raising a Concern Form.

Chair of Foundation School Board

Dr Duncan Henderson
Associate Dean
Email: duncan.henderson@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Foundation School Director

Dr Fiona Cameron
Associate Dean
Email: fionacameron@nhs.net

Lead Dean/Director for Foundation

Professor Clare McKenzie
Postgraduate Dean
Email: Clare.McKenzie@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Foundation School Manager

Christine Rea
Tel: 01382 425606
Email: christine.rea@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Foundation School Administrative Officer

Gillian Carter
Tel: 01382 496518
Email: gillian.carter@nes.scot.nhs.uk


Top